Awards and Honors

APTA Oregon Awards Submissions

Each year at the Annual Conference, we take the opportunity to recognize those in our profession that have provided outstanding services to the profession of physical therapy. APTA Oregon has three awards that honor people that have gone the extra mile, the Mercedes Weiss Service Award, the Ricci Susick Advocacy Award, and the Distinguished Service Award. We also recognize PTs or PTAs living in Oregon who have made a positive impact in their community, workplace, or within APTA Oregon with the Regional Excellence Awards.

**Awards Nomination Form is Currently Closed**

A colleague's formal recognition of a job well done is one of the greatest compliments a professional can receive.

View 2022 Award Winners Here
View 2021 Award Winners Here
View 2020 Award Winners here
View 2019 Award Winners here


Mercedes Weiss Service Award

The Mercedes Weiss Service Award was established in 1976 to publicly acknowledge the outstanding contribution of members of the profession.  Eligibility requirements for the Mercedes Weiss Service Award are as follows:

The candidate shall have made significant contribution to the advancement of one or more of the following areas:

1. Clinical Practice: such as innovations in treatment techniques, patient aids, standards of practice.
2. Education: such as program development or modification, educational skills and techniques, continuing education.
3. Administration: such as staff development, successful administrative innovations.
4. Research: such as basic or clinical research, development and implementation of research models, the promotion of research over a broad base.
5. Practice Management: such as legislative issues, reimbursement, quality assurance, etc.

Other areas which may not be included in 1 through 5 but which have significantly affected the practice of physical therapy.

1. The candidate is a member of APTA Oregon and has been a member for no less than five years.
2. Members of the Selection Committee (APTA Oregon Board of Directors) are not eligible for the award.

Past Recipients of the Mercedes Weiss Award

2022 - Dr. Kevin Chui, PT, DPT, PhD
2022 - Robert Long, PT
2021 - Mike Studer, PT, MHS, NCS, CEEAA, CWT, CSST, FAPTA
2020 - Derek N. Fenwick, PT, MBA
2019 - Deborah Jones, PT, DPT, CEEAA, ATP
2018 - Tyler Cuddeford, PT, PhD.
2016 - Richard Rutt, PT, ATC/R, PhD
2011 - JoAnne Bernt, PT, NCS, GCS
2009 – Bill Temes, PT
2008 – Ricci Susick, PT
2007 – Nancy Cicerillo, PT
2006 – None given
2005 – None given  
2004 – Cathy Zarosinski, PT
2003 – Tecla Thiman, PT
2002 – None given
2001 – Lynn Lippert, PT
2000 – None given 
1999 – None given 
1998 – None given 
1997 – None given 
1996 – Anne Porter Hoke
1995 – None given 
1994 – None given 
1993 – Barbara Beardsley
1992 – Bob Burles
1991 – None given
1990 – Fay Horak, PT, PhD
1989 – Paul Winklesky
1988 – Carol Schunk
1987 – None given
1986 – None given
1985 – Clem Eischen
1984 – Dan Jones
1983 – Wilbur Gregory
1982 – Emma Lentzer
1981 – none given
1980 – none given
1979 – Marion Showers
1978 – Mercedes Weiss
1977 – None given
1976 & 1978 – Mercedes Weiss

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was first given in 1988.  Eligibility requirements for APTA Oregon Distinguished Service Award are:

  1. The candidate shall have made a distinguished contribution of time, energy or expertise toward furthering the goals of APTA Oregon and for the benefit of its members. 
  2. The candidate need not be a member of the physical therapy profession or APTA Oregon.
  3. Members of the Selection Committee (Chapter Vice President and Members-at-Large) are not eligible for the award.
  4. List the APTA Oregon/APTA offices held, awards received, committee(s) served on when submitting your supporting statement.

Past Recipients of the Distinguished Service Award

2022 - Talina Corvus, PT, DPT, PHD
2021 - Inga Deckert
2020 - Sandra Fisher, CAE
2019 - Susan Bamburger, PT, DipMDT
2018 - Tasha MacIlveen, PT, DPT, CSCS
2016 – Cathy Zarosinski, PT
2015 – Chris Murphy, PT
2011 – Karen Walz, PT, MA, OCS, FAAOMPT
2009 – Tracy Rutten (lobbyist)
2007 – Dode Jackson, PT
2003 – Ricci Susick, PT
2002 – Kathy Marquardt, PT
2001 – Lucinda Hugos
1993 – Barbara Beardsley, Kathy Marquardt
1992 – Tim Lehman, Dave Groom
1991 – Vinton Mougey, Jewel Lehman
1990 – Teri Nishimoto, Pam Kirk, Hildur Hegstrom
1989 – Bob Burles, Gloria Andrus, Marty McCullough
1988 – Gwen White, Dave Fuchigami, Tom Miller (and Senator Frank Roberts for outstanding efforts on behalf of OPTA at legislative level)

Ricci Susick Advocacy Award

The Ricci Susick Advocacy Award was established in 2018 to publicly acknowledge the outstanding contribution of members of the profession. The candidate shall have made significant contribution to the advancement of the following areas:
  1. Advocacy at the local, state or national level, resulting in significant benefit to the physical therapy profession.
  2. Mentorship, furthering the profession through the development and mentoring of others who are passionate about advancing physical therapy.

Past Recipients of the Ricci Susick Advocacy Award

2021 - Jeannie Thompson, PTA
2020 - Chris Murphy, PT
2019 - Susan Reynolds, PT, MS, CCM
2018 - Ricci Susick

Congratulations to the Emerging Student Leaders

Each year the Delegates select one PT student and one PTA student to become part of the delegation to the House of Delegates.  These students are fully engaged in the process of reviewing motions for the House and candidates for national office.  They are also funded to attend the House.

2022 Winners
SPTA Award - Jose Linares Ochoa, SPTA
SPT Award -  Morgan Clark, SPT

2021 Winners
SPTA Award - Rebekkah Jolliff, SPTA
SPT Award -  Mason Flores, SPT   

2020 Winners
SPTA Award - Michelle Spindler, SPTA 
SPT Award - Gavin McBride, SPT, MS

2019 Winners
Ryann Lewis - Pacific University
Emily Barron - Lane Community College

APTA is currently accepting awards submissions for the Outstanding Physical Therapist Assistant Award and the Outstanding Physical Therapist / Physical Therapist Assistant Team Awards.

The Outstanding Physical Therapist Assistant Award recognizes a physical therapist assistant who has provided clinical services for a minimum of 5 years. This award honors  individual achievements in the areas of patient care, community service, and commitment toward the profession and association.

The Outstanding Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant Team Award honors professionals who have individually provided clinical service for a minimum of 5 years, and have positively affected the quality of physical therapy through their combined teamwork during a period of at least 3 years. This award recognizes a PT/PTA team whose positive work has contributed to the delivery of high-quality physical therapist services.